Computer Science Overview

As one of the most rapidly changing subject The Computer Science Department is on an exciting journey of improving academic performance and challenging students on the technology and systems that dominate our personal and working lives. As technology advances, and as the next generation of social media, we believe it is our responsibility to prepare all students for vibrant and exciting digital world. 



Hanson Computer Science Department consists of 4 staff across the full age range 11-19.  

  • Subject Leader of Computer Science – Mr Josh Johnson 
  • Teacher Computer Science – Mr Dale Adlington
  • Teacher Computer Science – Ms Nigat Parveen 
  • Teacher Computer Science – Ms Hinfa Bukhtawar 



We are able to utilise the full benefits of a multi million pound building that we moved into in 2014. There are 4 dedicated ICT suites all with interactive whiteboards. ICT suites are fully air-conditioned and include 32 machines which include a range of installed graphics and programming software.  



Students are taught Computer Science at KS3 from Y7 – Y9. In Y9 students study OCR Entry Level Computer Science to prepare them for 9-1 GCSE Computer Science in Y10. Students also have the option to choose a Technical Award in ICT. KS5 students have the option to study both Level 2 and Level 3 Technical Award in Information Communication Technology. Teachers are available every lunch time and most evenings to help students with their work. After school and holiday revision classes are also timetabled for all Year 11 students in the spring and summer terms.